Cardinals to Put Pads on Wednesday

Dominique Brown | Eli Rogers | Jeremy Wright

With the first day of pads being strapped on tomorrow, head coach Charlie Strong didn’t let up on the Cardinals on Tuesday afternoon.

Holding its longest practice of the season, Strong put the Cardinals through 26 periods, which ended with the Cardinals running a two-minute drill. Sophomore Andrew Johnson almost ended one drive when he nearly made an acrobatic catch along the sideline, but was ruled to be out-of-bounds.

Louisville went through a number of third-down situations during the second half of practice, as well as, a number of special teams phases. The Cardinals practiced punt block this afternoon and also worked on kickoffs.

The offense continued to work hard on the running game, trying to pound the football, and one of the players primed to do that is junior Dominique Brown.

Brown emerged last season after playing quarterback to be one the main backs in the offense, rushing for 533 yards and four touchdowns. He led the Cardinals in rushing in last season’s win over Kentucky with a career-high 91 yards, but the junior from Cincinnati is settling into his new home.

“I’m stable right now,” said Brown, who is still looking for his first 100-yard game. “I think I’ve found a home at running back I can learn and take coaching from Kenny Carter. I’m trying to add things to my game. I’m not able to run people over because they are Division I athletes just like me, but I’m trying to add things all the time to my game.”

Brown has slimmed down a bit in the offseason and it looks to have helped him through the first four practices.

“I had to lose a couple pounds,” added Brown.  “I was trying to get more explosive and try to gain more speed. I think I am more explosive than last year, but I’m in a great comfort zone.”

The Cardinals hit the field early Wednesday morning at 9 a.m. Louisville will also conduct its media day later in the day at 12:30 p.m.

Leave a Reply

